Baranof Fishing Reviews

What Guests are saying about us:

Surprise, all these reviews are positive! If you check TripAdvisor, you’ll see we have about 800 reviews with less than fifty 4-star or below; we didn’t include negatives here as we feel it’s an inaccurate depiction of our goals and commitment. Also, reviewing the specifics of what a group found to be an outstanding excursion serves to provide realistic expectations on what our prospective customers should demand of us. Five-star experiences are the minimum we hold ourselves to, and we ask that you don’t settle for less.

This was one of the best experiences of my life. Review Date: 2017-05-15

Captain Joe Petrucco was one of the nicest fishing guides I have ever met. He was very polite, knowledgeable, very patient and funny. This was listed as a shore excursion from Princess as Alaska Fishing and Wilderness dining. The boats are very clean and the campsite which prepares and cooks the fish you caught, was awesome. As a solo female traveler I did not know what to expect, but ladies, grab your rain coats and go outside the box and try this fishing trip. The entire crew will help you with everything and you will have one of the best memories to take home. I am going back in May 2018 to do this again as this was that good.

  • Captain: Joe
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Alaskan sports fishing Review Date: 2017-05-23

This was my second Alaskan fishing charter and it was absolutely the best fishing trip I have ever been on. I only caught one rock fish but I don't care so much if I catch anything as much as the trip itself. The Captan of the boat was Matt Carlson. He was born and raised here in Alaska and he knows where and how to catch fish here. After fishing he took us to their wilderness camp where they cooked the fish we caught. We had a open fire with a blue enamel coffee pot full of coffee. I'm not sure of the recipe for the fish but it was wonderful. There was only three of us fishing and and I counted at least eight people to take care of us. At sometime in my life I would love to come back to this very place and fish. Thank all of you for one of the happiest times of my life.

  • Captain: Matt
  • |
  • MS
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best Fishing Charter ever! Review Date: 2017-05-25

My son (age 17) and I booked a Halibut fishing excursion with the Princess Star Cruise that we were on (Voyage of the Glaciers northbound). Princess had two boats reserved (each taking four people) and six people signed up for the Fishing Charter. Four of the people knew each other and went on one boat and my son and I had our own boat- it ended up being a private charter and we had the best time and a great experience. Aaron was our captain and host and he was knowledgeable and friendly and committed to us catching fish, especially halibut (although we knew and understood that catching any kind of fish could never be guaranteed). We caught cod and halibut and had an amazing experience. We learned about how you can tell if it's a halibut taking your bait by the way they bite and how to successfully reel them in. It rained throughout the day and it didn't matter at all as Baranof completely outfitted us in waterproof bib overalls, boots, jackets and gloves. We didn't get wet at all even though we were on the boat deck fishing for hours. Aaron was a great fishing guide and boat captain and obviously enjoyed his job and his enthusiasm was genuine. On the way back to the dock Aaron asked if we wanted to have our catch prepared and cooked or if we wanted to ship it home. We chose to have fresh halibut and cod for lunch. Aaron brought the filets out and showed them to us prior to sending them to the kitchen for cooking. The fish was deliciously prepared and Aaron joined us for lunch. What a great excursion!!!  My only complaint would be with the excursion desk on our cruise. The woman who specializes in shore excursions didn't know anything about our excursion and wasn't able to answer my questions. She also wasn't willing to contact the charter. I booked the excursion anyway. I asked for the charter's phone number and that request was denied. I didn't know it was Baranof until we arrived at the dock or I would have looked them up on my own and contacted them. Pretty much everything the excursion desk person told me was inaccurate - the most important information being that all of the gear was provided and included (no I didn't to provide my own rain gear as I was told). The experience with Aaron and Baranof was so memorable that my teenage son wants to figure out how he can get a seasonal job with them starting next May. Thank you Aaron and Baranof!

  • Captain: Aaron
  • |
  • California
  • |
  • Excursion: Private Charter
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Alaska Fishing Adventure Review Date: 2017-06-26

We chose to book the private boat because there were 4 of us and a 1st time trip for one couple. Chris was our guide and he is the best. I personally had a trip with him in 2016 & had such a great time we requested him for 2017. Chris is extremely knowledgeable & patient throughout the tangles & seasickness some experienced. We limited on rockfish & Kings that were above average size & took home 2 large Halibut. We had to release 2 Halibut that were too large, as well as numerous small kings & rockfish. A fantastic fishing trip even though it rained most of the time! Dinner at the wilderness camp topped off a fabulous vacation. We will be back next year.

  • Captain: Chris
  • |
  • Montana
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

One Fish After Another Review Date: 2017-07-09

6 of us went out with captain Geoffrey,he told us right away the salmon would be tough to find .but had a good spot for halibut,so we took a run,so soon as we got to the spot we dropped down.and right away my wife had one on, then from there on it was one fish after another,

  • Captain: Geoff
  • |
  • Pennsylvania
  • |
  • Excursion: Hunting for Halibut
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Flawless experience Review Date: 2017-07-16

Nothing but praise for Baranof & Nick, our guide. Our family of 5 booked this excursion independently for a Princess cruise stop. By booking ourselves we were able to get a better rate that allowed us to get a covered boat which came in handy as it rained most of the time we were out. We caught pollock, rock fish, shark & halibut. Our trip was a cook your catch & the stew & dessert were amazing. Camp site was rustic, authentic, beautiful, perfect. They provide everything. Wear warm socks! Great experience!

  • Captain: Nick
  • |
  • Texas
  • |
  • Excursion: Cook your Catch
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

30th Anniversary Alaska Review Date: 2017-07-22

My wife and I enjoyed our Wilderness camp meal, complete with a bouquet of flowers and Champagne compliments of Baranof! Owen and Tyler did a commendable job making us feel special! Owen expertly fillet our fish and Tyler cooked it to perfection! The bonus was the bald Eagles on the Island.

  • Captain: Owen
  • |
  • Arizona
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

fantastic staff Review Date: 2017-07-25

We did not have a reservation for fishing, but were staying in Ketchikan for 1 week. We called Baranof and spoke to Chuck the owner. He booked us for the next morning . This was a class A run business--clean, excellent guides, well run from getting to the dock to leaving the dock and each individual that we encountered was friendly. We had a family of 4 and caught rockfish, salmon, halibut and a yellow eye. We ended up going out a 2nd day because it was such a blast....thanks to Johnny, Tony and Trent our guides for making this a once in a lifetime experience for my husband and I along with our 2 teenage boys

  • Captain: Johnnie
  • |
  • Wisconsin
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |