Baranof Fishing Reviews

What Guests are saying about us:

Surprise, all these reviews are positive! If you check TripAdvisor, you’ll see we have about 800 reviews with less than fifty 4-star or below; we didn’t include negatives here as we feel it’s an inaccurate depiction of our goals and commitment. Also, reviewing the specifics of what a group found to be an outstanding excursion serves to provide realistic expectations on what our prospective customers should demand of us. Five-star experiences are the minimum we hold ourselves to, and we ask that you don’t settle for less.

Great Week Review Date: 2018-06-24

Found Baranof online and found all the good things said were true. Went fishing with Matt Carlson as our guide and could not have been happier! We enjoyed his personality and knowledge so much that we requested him as our guide for all 4 days of fishing. Over 4 days we brought home 100 lbs of fish, including. Lingcod, halibut, king salmon, silver salmon, rock cod, cod, not to mention the huge halibut we could not take because he was in the no zone of over 38 inches and under 80 inches. Would definitely recommend Baranof AND the Alaska Fish house, and the cook your catch.

  • Captain: Matt
  • |
  • California
  • |
  • Excursion: Cook your Catch
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Must Read Review Review Date: 2018-06-27

This was the second year that we traveled to Ketchikan to fish with Chris and Baranof Fishing Excursions.The trip was, as expected, nothing less than fantastic. Even though we were at the end of the king salmon run and at the very start of the silver runs, we caught our limit of halibut and rock fish. Chris is a really good guide and Baranof worked very hard to make sure that we had the great experience we were looking for. But the amazing part was that at the end of the fishing trip, Baranof offers a "cook your catch" experience where they cook some of your fish for dinner at the Alaska Fish House restaurant which is associated with Baranof and is located right at the dock. We have had the good fortune to eat at some amazing restaurants all over the world and the experience we had tonight eating our fish at the Fish House may have been the best seafood dinner we have ever had. How the Alaska Fish House lured Austin away from Seattle to come to Ketchikan will remain a mystery but please do not miss out. I am struggling to find the words to describe how good our meal was. Thank you Shannon for walking through the entire dinner with us and explaining how everything was prepared and why our taste buds are still in euphoria. If I had to choose between Paris or Ketchikan, we would eat at the Fish House and ask someone to send me a nice picture of the Eiffel Tower!

  • Captain: Chris
  • |
  • Colorado
  • |
  • Excursion: Cook your Catch
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Awesome Fishing Review Date: 2018-07-03

We booked the Alaskan Wilderness Dining excursion. Our guide was Isaac. He was the best! We all caught several fish. He went above and beyond to ensure that we caught some salmon. The camp and food were excellent. All of the guys were super nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend Baranof Fishing. Ask for Isaac. You won’t be disappointed!

  • Captain: Isaac
  • |
  • Louisiana
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best tour in Alaska!! Baranof Fishing Review Date: 2018-07-05

Baranof Fishing Experience is professionally done start to finish. We met Trent Updegraff just off the cruise ship and walked 2 minutes to the boat with our group of 5 including one in wheelchair and 2 teens. Perfect sunny day on a spotless boat and best mate, Kim, you can imagine. Saw lots of wildlife on 30 minute ride to our fishing spot. Captains spread the fleet and when one started catching we moved and had a Halibut on shortly thereafter. We caught fish after fish. We caught one 70lb fish that we in the "slot" that fought and fought. Trent took our catch, filleted and Shannon took us over to cook up our catch. Best meal we had all week!!! First round of beer on the house! 6 hours was perfect length.

  • Captain: Trent
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best day of our trip to Alaska! Review Date: 2018-07-07

The people at Baranof- Isaac, Josh, Drew and Owen- could not be kinder, more knowledgeable or more fun! We were 3 generations, ages 6-75, and we all had a blast! We caught all sorts of fish, and then it was cooked into a lunch that makes my mouth water. Really, I highly this company- truly an excellent, safe, fun adventure of a lifetime.

  • Captain: Josh
  • |
  • Montana
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Great fishing trip Review Date: 2018-07-08

We came from Utah just to try to bring Halibut home, and Lukas with Baranof made it happen. He was thoroughly detail oriented and a skilled fisherman. Chuck (the owner) and his daughter and son were incredibly accommodating and showed top notch customer service. They also run Alaska Fish House, which serves delicious food at a fair price. The “cook your catch” fishing is a brilliant idea and the chef was spot on. We had a grand time and we wanted to highly recommend this fishing guide service and restaurant. Don’t miss this on a trip to Ketchikan!

  • Captain: Lukas
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Cook your Catch
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best trip 7/5/18 Review Date: 2018-07-08

Beth was our guide and she was so much fun. We had great conversation and she is extremely knowledgeable about the sport and the area. She is a Ketchikan native. We were super successful and caught an average of 3 fish each. Our catch then became our lunch. We pull up to a beach camp and Beth cleans and fillets our fish and there is a chef that prepares for us. The most delicious and fresh plate. Also came with a blueberry bread pudding that was incredible. I could have had second of that!

Such a fun day. I can’t express how much fun this was. We also fed the eagles our fish carcass. Incredible sight to see.

Baranof provides life jackets, rain gear and boots so you don’t get wet. We had the most beautiful, hot sunny day but the rain gear still came in handy for the ocean splash!!

  • Captain: Beth
  • |
  • California
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best day in Alaska! Review Date: 2018-07-10

We had the best day fishing with Isaac and Jacob! They took us right to the area with the best Rockfish and we were catching them like crazy. We had 3 generations on our boat and we had the best time. Then lunch on the beach was divine thanks to our guides and Owen and Drew! Truly an awesome fishing experience! Highly recommend their very professional company. They had all the gear we needed to stay warm and dry!

  • Captain: Jacob
  • |
  • North Carolina
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |