Baranof Fishing Reviews

What Guests are saying about us:

Surprise, all these reviews are positive! If you check TripAdvisor, you’ll see we have about 800 reviews with less than fifty 4-star or below; we didn’t include negatives here as we feel it’s an inaccurate depiction of our goals and commitment. Also, reviewing the specifics of what a group found to be an outstanding excursion serves to provide realistic expectations on what our prospective customers should demand of us. Five-star experiences are the minimum we hold ourselves to, and we ask that you don’t settle for less.

Lifetime Memory Review Date: 2018-08-12

First, Baranof is, to my knowledge, the only charter company in Ketchikan that will accommodate a single fisherman. So, a big thanks to them for that...Now about the fishing... Was met at the cruise ship dock by Matt C., skipper and guide. Escorted me to the Baranof site, maybe a five minute walk. Easy Peasy. Took care of license purchase and got fitted for boots and “ overalls. “ Easy Peasy. Proceeded to a beautifully fitted out fishing boat and was introduced to state of the art tackle. Boat was immaculate and tackle was top notch. Very Happy. Within twenty minutes we were on salmon...Pinks and Silvers and, yes, I caught several nice fish. Point to be made here is that Matt’s knowledge and enthusiasm made this possible. Great guy ! Fished for salmon and did well. Then went on a hunt for Halibut... Worked very hard to catch one but, alas, while they were biting nicely several hours earlier, they quieted down and took an afternoon siesta. No luck. ( That’s why they call it Fishing and not Catching )... Matt turned himself inside out to make this and every other part of my six hour trip fun, educational and successful. It was a remarkable day on the water in mind-blowingly beautiful surroundings with a terrific guy working for a professional, first class company. Baranof Fishing Excursions, their employees and their boats and equipment get “ Tens “ across the board, even though Trip Advisors rating system goes to Five Stars. Super experience that I’ll never forget. And, not for nothing, it was very reasonably priced. One more thing. The fish processing and shipping is seamless and very reasonably. So...call Baranof and go fishing with them.

  • Captain: Matt
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Salmon Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Great fishing trip! Review Date: 2018-08-13

My son (15 yrs old) and I chartered a fishing trip through Baranof in July. From the captain meeting us right at our cruise ship, throughout the entire day fishing, he made it fun, informative and super easy - even for fairly novice fishermen like us. We caught lots rock fish, halibut, and had a great time all around. I highly recommend Baranof!

  • Captain: Baranof
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Hunting for Halibut
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

GREAT FISHING !!! Review Date: 2018-08-13

My wife and I had a great fishing experience . It was a beautiful day and the fishing was amazing ! Our captain Trent found the fish and the bite never stopped. There were 2 other people on the boat and we caught 14 halibut. We were only allowed to keep 4 based on Alaska fishing regulations. We also cod ,sole and even a shark. It was my wife's first fishing trip and she caught the biggest halibut 36" and over 20 pounds. I highly recommend Baranof if you want a great fishing trip and ask for Trent. Marty & Rachelle

  • Captain: Trent
  • |
  • California
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Fantastic Time with Geoff and Grace!!! Review Date: 2018-08-15

Took a fishing trip with Baranof for while in Ketchikan for the day on a cruise. Had an amazing time with Geoff and Grace fishing on their 30' boat. It was extremely comfortable and easy to fish from. Salmon fishing had been slow so Geoff recommended fishing the bottom and we did great! An excellent day and a real pleasure to be with our guide and deck hand. Sure to do this again.

  • Captain: Geoff
  • |
  • Colorado
  • |
  • Excursion: Salmon Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Highly recommended Review Date: 2018-08-15

We joined 3 other guests for a fabulous experience with Isaac. Made some new friends and caught some keepers including halibut, pacific cod, salmon, and rockfish. It was even fun and interesting catching the rat fish. Isaac was friendly, knowledgeable and went the extra mile. Even though we hadn’t booked a cook your catch experience the chef prepared the halibut and rockfish for us fried, grilled and blackened..,,,delicious ! Thanks for a memorable day !!

  • Captain: Isaac
  • |
  • Pennsylvania
  • |
  • Excursion: Salmon Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

We had the greatest experience Review Date: 2018-08-17

We had a fantastic experience with Baranof and our captain Matt Carlson. He was incredible. We caught a bunch of fish including red snapper, salmon and rock fish. The meal that was cooked at camp was awesome and they flash froze and shipped the rest of our fish back home. We would go out with Matt again in a heart beat. A true professional and he is Alaska through and through.

  • Captain: Matt
  • |
  • Colorado
  • |
  • Excursion: Salmon Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Amazing day with Geoff and Grace Review Date: 2018-08-18

We booked a 6 hour charter with Baranoff to include the “cook your catch” option at the campground. We had extremely high expectations and our father and daughter crew of Geoff and Grace delivered an above and beyond experience. The boat was brand new and was perfect for our family of six. Geoff is clearly the real deal of charter fishing captains - having professionally sport fished in Hawaii, Alaska and many other places around the world. He knew exactly where to take us and what sort of help was needed for us amateurs. We can’t imagine how there could be anyone better in the business. Having Grace on board as the first mate was awesome. She handled her role like a seasoned veteran at the ripe old age of 12. Her predictions on the crab pots were also right on - plenty of crab and even a few keepers that were delicious! Having our girls (9,7 and almost 5) get a chance to learn from her was an added and unexpected bonus. The skills and work ethic she’s learning will clearly take her far, wherever she wants to go in life. Within just a few minutes our whole group had brought great keepers on board, rockfish, silver salmon, yellow eye...and of course one monster ling cod that got away...which will be family legend for years to come. The team at camp who prepared the fish and crabs did an awesome job. The whole day was one of the top highlights to our 15 days in the Pacific Northwest. Thank you to Geoff and Grace!

  • Captain: Geoff
  • |
  • Ohio
  • |
  • Excursion: Salmon Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best Alaskan Fishing Trip Review Date: 2018-08-21

Just got back to Massachusetts last night, our fish arrived today... it was awesome. Matt went above and beyond especially with teenage girls onboard. He was professional, funny and knowledgeable. As fishing captains ourselfs on the east coast we understand the industry. Matt was exemplary. Highly recommend this company... ask for Capt. Matt.

  • Captain: Matt
  • |
  • Massachussettes
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |