Reviews by captain

Lukas Brickweg

Reviews For:

Hell of day on the water with Lukas!

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-09-29
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • South Carolina

I’ve been to Ketchikan twice before, but nothing stood out like this trip! THIS IS A MUST!! This fishing trip is something we will never forget...especially for my mother-in-law, who had never been fishing before. We couldn’t of asked for a better Captain than Lukas, he definitely made the trip! He was very knowledgeable of the waterways and marine life. We saw bald eagles, sea lions, and a pod of whales blowing in the distance. Most importantly...Lukas put us on one good spot after another. We caught everything...yelloweye rockfish, china rockfish, yellowtail rockfish, halibut, ling cod, flounder, and blue ling cod When you have that good of a day on the water you aren’t even sore from reeling in 300+ foot of water. Lucas was also awesome and considerate in that when my mother-in-law started to get sea sick, he took us to calmer waters. Lucas went above and beyond, he deserve every bit of his tip!! We plan to come back next year and this will be on the top of the list!

Great Experience

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-09-23
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Tennesse

My son, son-in-law, and I went Coho Salmon fishing with Lukas Brickweg on September 17, 2018. We had a great trip!! We caught 7 huge Coho's. Lukas took us out to the area where the commercial fisherman were and we had great success. In September the late Coho run is in full swing in the Ketchikan area. We had a great trip!! Lukas suggested salmon fishing that day over halibut fishing and it turned out that we had smooth seas and caught about 45 lbs. (dressed weight) of salmon and the folks that went halibut fishing that day came home empty-handed. Can't say enough about the experience!!

Hunting for Halibut

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-07-23
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Idaho

We had so much fun! Lukas was an excellent captain and guide. First he provided us with the rain/wet gear we needed to stay comfortable. The boat ride out to where the halibut were was a thrill and beautiful. He took us out right to the fish. He constantly adjusted where the boat was to be over where the fish were. We had so many bites and finally got the trick to hooking and landing. Lukas was on top of the situation but quite, calm, and confident. He's the perfect guide for the experienced fishermen on our boat and me a NOVICE. It was so obvious that he wanted all of us to be successful, and we were.

Baranof is the place to go for great fishing!

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-09-20
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • N/A

Lucas, Jake and Jack showed me a great time catching Halibut, Salmon, Cod and Rock fish. Each one keeps the trip entertaining with positive vibes and good fishing techniques. They also know where to get the fish!

Best Charter in Ketchikan

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-06-15
  • Private Charter
  • Washington

I booked the private charter through Baranof with 5 of my family members. Our Guide Lukas was great. Professional, knowledgeable and experienced. We wanted to catch Halibut and he knew where to take us. We had two in the boat before we knew it. The fishing slowed down so he asked if we wanted to change gears and go after Lingcod and Rockfish. None of us had ever tried that so we went for it. Lukas took us right to the fish, and we made him work when we had 3 or 4 fish on at a time. Within minutes we had a boat load of fish. It was a great time had by all and a very memorable trip. I would definitely come back again and recommend to others.

Sunshine or rain - best $ spent in Alaska

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-06-03
  • Private Charter
  • Florida

If you are fishing around (hahaha) for the best private charter in Ketchikan, or maybe searching for great excursions for your cruise ship....just book this place. They are the same company that contract w/ the cruise line- don't hesitate. They are responsive and quick on questions, email or calls. Booked a private charter- they picked us up on at the cruise gangway for a 5 min. Drive to the dock- rainy day in Ketchikan (like 80%of the days here) - they equipped us with rain gear, fishing licenses and we are off! Party of 5, 2 kids. Since it was a private charter, we could catch anything we wanted, do anything we wanted. We set off with Lukas, our Captain. Our youngest wanted crab, Grandmom salmon, I wanted halibut (not good halibut fishing this day was the word on the radio from the other fisherman, seas rough and tough to go out to get the halibut). So we set bait in crab box and sunk 3 in the water. Off we went to fish for rockfish or whatever hit our lines; then off for a king salmon (which was the only salmon out end of May). Capt. Lukas, set up all the rods, made sure grandma was warm, made sure the kids were jigging pros and we dragged in 6 rockfish varieties plus a few lost :-( I did not get my halibut or even get to reel one in, but who cares? I was on the water in Alaska with my family, creating memories. Just as we dropped in the lines for the salmon trolling, hubs was asking 'how do you know if one bites' just like that Lukas said 'it looks like that!' And the catch was on! Moving fast little G (our 8yo) took the reel and began the fight. Daddy helping. The excitement in the boat was contagious! Everyone super excited! Apparently 2nd catch of the season! HUGE salmon. After the salmon excitement, we trolled around for a bit (or bite) and nada. The crab boxes had a starfish... Sadly our 6 hours went so fast, we were off the boat and off to their sister restaurant where Chef Tyler cooked up our fish after filet and cleaning done by Lukas. . . What an experience! Def. book this charter You WILL be happy Always remember- they can't guarantee a catch, don't knockoff stars if you don't catch anything- the fish don't care about your money. It's the experience and memories.

Great time with Luke

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-09-26
  • Salmon Fishing
  • Colorado

Originally we planned for a Halibut fishing excursion but after some direction from our guide Luke, he recommended we go Silver Salmon fishing as they had been biting much more. We obliged and we are glad we did! We ended up catching 3 silver salmon fish that we ended up having fileted and frozen and sent home to us in Colorado to share with our family and friends. It was a beautiful day on the water, not a cloud in site. The water was pretty smooth and the company was great. The catch was exciting as they all bit at once. From start to finish, it was a great day. They were right there to pick us up from our cruise ship and got us back with an hour to spare before we had to get back on board. Baranof was easy to communicate with, I would definitely fish with them again! Also, fun fact is our guide and I went to the same college- University of North Florida---SWOOP!!

Awesome day of Alaskan fishing!

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-08-30
  • Salmon Fishing
  • Canada

We were a group of four (2 couples) – with our two husbands who had fished before. Our 6-hour fishing tour was awesome! We booked with Baranof Excursions by phone before boarding our Princess cruise in Anchorage (Whittier). We had pre-paid using our credit card. On the day our cruise arrived in Ketchikan, Lukas (the captain of our fishing boat) met us at the dock by our cruise ship and we walked the short distance to where the company is based by the dock. We were outfitted with boots (and raincoats – which we declined on the sunny day) and our personal belongings were put into a watertight bag to have on board with us. We also purchased our Alaskan fishing licenses ($25 U.S. per person – via Baranof) at the dock. We all opted to buy a license; although, one could go out and just watch the others fish and not have a license, if you preferred. The day was sunny for us; but, our boat had both a covered area (where we sat while travelling) and an open area (from where we fished). Working part of the year in Alaska and the other part in Florida, Lukas was an expert on all aspects of our tour (operating the boat, showing us how to bait our lines and how to reel in the fish we caught – nine, in total)! We fished both by trolling and by jigging. (The wives learned a lot! Ha ha!) We caught: pink salmon, silver salmon, yellowtail rockfish, ling cod, and yelloweye rockfish. What a perfect day! We boated out quite far (just over an hour) to an area where Lukas believed we would have success; he was right! During the five (or so) hours we were actually out on the boat, Lukas gave each of us a small boxed “lunch” for a snack (crackers, delicious salmon spread, a fruit cup, etc.) We had also brought our own lunch (sandwiches, fruit, drinks) to supplement the one Baranof had provided. He showed us how to “use the facilities” while out on the boat – basically, off the side (as, obviously, there is no bathroom on board). When we returned to the dock, Lukas hung our fish on hooks for a photo opportunity – so we could take our own photos. We also watched as he cleaned our fish for us. Then (this was very cool) – Lukas had us fill out the paperwork to enable some of our fish to be brought on board our Princess ship to be cooked up for us by the ship’s chef (a [free!] service only provided by Princess, not the other cruise lines). We enjoyed eating our “catch” (deliciously prepared and presented by the Princess kitchen) the next day for lunch on the ship (an “at sea” day, for us). The rest of the fish we caught could be shipped home (at our expense); but, we opted to have Baranof prepare and deliver it to the homeless shelter in Ketchikan – a great idea! What a wonderful overall experience – fishing in Alaska, catching nine fish, watching them be cleaned, and then eating them, beautifully prepared, on our cruise ship! Thanks, Lukas (Baranof) and “Princess” for an awesome experience!!

Great Experience

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-09-21
  • Salmon Fishing
  • N/A

Went there on short notice and it was no problem at all. We went for salmon on a nice clean boat and our guide (Lucas) knew his craft very well. Everyone on the boat (5 people) got a very nice sized salmon on the line. Would defenitly do it again!

Amazing Alaska fishing trip!

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-08-28
  • Alaska Fishing
  • N/A

Big thanks to Captain Lucas and Baranof Fishing at Ketchikan AK. We had an amazing trip and the kids loved it. We caught and released 2 monster ling cod, and my daughter Kelly caught the biggest one. They also cooked some of our catch in their restaurant. It was delicious!

Great fishing trip

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-07-08
  • Cook your Catch
  • N/A

We came from Utah just to try to bring Halibut home, and Lukas with Baranof made it happen. He was thoroughly detail oriented and a skilled fisherman. Chuck (the owner) and his daughter and son were incredibly accommodating and showed top notch customer service. They also run Alaska Fish House, which serves delicious food at a fair price. The “cook your catch” fishing is a brilliant idea and the chef was spot on. We had a grand time and we wanted to highly recommend this fishing guide service and restaurant. Don’t miss this on a trip to Ketchikan!

Fantastic Experience

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-09-13
  • Salmon Fishing
  • New York

We had a fantastic experience with Captain Lucas Brickweg of Baranof Fishing Excursions Luke made it clear that he would do everything in his power to get us fish He switched baits. He changed gear. He kept in touch with other captains and the commercial fishing boats With his help and diligence we caught 4 Coho Salmon 13-17lbs His boat was very clean A perfect size for 4 or 5 people Not much of a "head" but not a problem when your on a 4 hour cruise ship fish excursion Luke kept us safe. Kept us entertained with his Alaska stories. And most importantly got use fish I recommend Capt Lucas and Baranof Fishing Excursions

Best Private Charter in Ketchikan

  • Lukas Brickweg
  • 2018-05-31
  • Private Charter
  • Flordia

Are you kidding me? I know you are fishing around (hahaha) for the best private charter in Ketchikan, or maybe searching for great excursions for your cruise ship....just book this place. Stop looking and bite the bullet, just book it. They are the same company that contract w/ the cruise line- don't hesitate. They are responsive and quick on questions, email or calls. Booked a private charter- they picked us up on at the cruise gangway for a 5 min. Drive to the dock- rainy day in Ketchikan (like 80%of the days here) - they equipped us with rain gear (not so lucky if you book with the cruise) - fishing licenses and we are off! Party of 5, 2 kids. Since it was a private charter, we could catch anything we wanted. So we set bait in crab box and sunk 3 in the water. Off we went to fish for rockfish or whatever bit, then off for a king salmon (which was the only salmon out end of May). Lucas, our captain, set up all the rods, made sure grandma was warm, made sure the kids were jigging pros and we dragged in 6 rockfish varieties plus a few lost :-( Just as Lucas dropped in the lines for the salmon trolling, hubs was asking 'how do you know if one bites' just like that Lucas said 'it looks like that!' And the catch was on! Moving fast little G (our 8yo) took the reel and began the fight. Daddy helping and -Lucas when needed moving fast. Everyone super excited! Apparently 2nd catch of the season! HUGE salmon. The crab boxes had a starfish....after a wonderfully successful day on the water, we headed to Alaska fish house (AFH) to have our catch cooked up for us. What an experience! Def. book this charter You WILL be happy Always remember- they can't guarantee a catch, don't knockoff stars if you don't catch anything- the fish don't care about your money. It's the experience and memories.see my AFH review for part 2 of the story