Baranof Fishing Reviews

What Guests are saying about us:

Surprise, all these reviews are positive! If you check TripAdvisor, you’ll see we have about 800 reviews with less than fifty 4-star or below; we didn’t include negatives here as we feel it’s an inaccurate depiction of our goals and commitment. Also, reviewing the specifics of what a group found to be an outstanding excursion serves to provide realistic expectations on what our prospective customers should demand of us. Five-star experiences are the minimum we hold ourselves to, and we ask that you don’t settle for less.

Don't miss the fishing and gourmet lunch on the beach! Review Date: 2018-09-13

Booked with Princess for the cruise excursion. Capt. Beth Antonsen took great care of us and I cannot tell you how wonderful the meal was or how beautiful the scenery and beach areas were. All rain gear and boots were provided, so hardly had to carry a thing. We went bottom fishing and if you haven't done it before, don't worry they teach you and work hard so everyone got at least 1 fish. Some got many and Beth made sure that we released them safely back to the sea. She was also very knowledgeable about the area, great respect for the land and the sea, and told us a lot about Ketchikan. Hands down the best excursion in Ketchikan.

  • Captain: Beth
  • |
  • Ohio
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Incredible AK Fishing with Guide Steve Review Date: 2018-09-15

So, you know the moment where you have to choose what to do "extra" while on an Alaskan cruise? Well, in Ketchikan, look NO Further! Baranof Fishing Excursions and Fish Camp is THE BOMB. We had our 2 kids (11/Boy and 8/Girl) and they absolutely loved it. They fished by themselves with the expert guidance of Steve, we later filet the fish and cooked the very fresh fish into a great meal. Steve was a Military guy who lived all over the world, and once retired from US service, he beelined straight to Alaska to guide fishing trips. He is the perfect guide, Fish Tattoo on his arm, Big protective beard, Top gear, and a fun and efficient nature. Our daughter kept pulling the fish up, and so she started talking trash to Steve and they had wonderful time pulling fish out. We threw many back, and kept only what we were going to eat. The weather was perfect for Alaska. The memory will last for decades. It was the BEST experience, and although pricey in absolute dollars, it was a Great value, and I'd do it again tomorrow. Can't recommend enough~ Saw a Bald eagle get a fish off the water, right in front of us...Looked for Bears. Crystal clear water, and they give you all the gear you need! A+

  • Captain: Steve
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Nice relaxing day fishing Review Date: 2018-09-17

Our party of four wanted to do some fishing while in Alaska on our cruise. Baranof's met us right at the gangway to our ship and escorted us the short walk to their docks. They provided bibs and waders, all the poles, gear and bait - even a nice snack to have on board. We really wanted to catch some salmon, but the salmon weren't biting. We did catch some halibut and cod though. The captain was great about keeping our lines working and giving us tips and moving around to try and find the fish. We enjoyed being out at sea, taking in the scenery and nice weather, and catching what we did. The timetable on our cruise departure had shifted, and he was great about getting us back to the dock in plenty of time to board our ship. When you arrive back at their docks hey hang your fish up on the racks and take your photo by them, so that was fun to have. We did pay to have the fish cleaned and frozen and shipped to us, and everything was just how we wanted it, and the pricing on that was very reasonable. All in all a fun and relaxing day spent in Alaska

  • Captain: Baranof
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Salmon Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Baranof is the place to go for great fishing! Review Date: 2018-09-20

Lucas, Jake and Jack showed me a great time catching Halibut, Salmon, Cod and Rock fish. Each one keeps the trip entertaining with positive vibes and good fishing techniques. They also know where to get the fish!

  • Captain: Lukas
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Hunting for Halibut
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Great Experience Review Date: 2018-09-21

Went there on short notice and it was no problem at all. We went for salmon on a nice clean boat and our guide (Lucas) knew his craft very well. Everyone on the boat (5 people) got a very nice sized salmon on the line. Would defenitly do it again!

  • Captain: Lukas
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Salmon Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Great Experience Review Date: 2018-09-23

My son, son-in-law, and I went Coho Salmon fishing with Lukas Brickweg on September 17, 2018. We had a great trip!! We caught 7 huge Coho's. Lukas took us out to the area where the commercial fisherman were and we had great success. In September the late Coho run is in full swing in the Ketchikan area. We had a great trip!! Lukas suggested salmon fishing that day over halibut fishing and it turned out that we had smooth seas and caught about 45 lbs. (dressed weight) of salmon and the folks that went halibut fishing that day came home empty-handed. Can't say enough about the experience!!

  • Captain: Lukas
  • |
  • Tennesse
  • |
  • Excursion: Hunting for Halibut
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best Excursion on our cruise to Alaska! Review Date: 2018-09-24

We saw whales, eagles, sea lions. We caught a bunch of fish. Sam was an excellent guide with a lot of great local knowledge. The food was out of this world delicious. I'm not a fan of salmon, but when it is this fresh and cooked this way, it's super yummy. This was our most memorable outing. Thanks Sam!

  • Captain: Sam
  • |
  • California
  • |
  • Excursion: Salmon Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Fantastic Experience Review Date: 2018-09-24

Fantastic experience, came here off of the Norwegian Bliss and our first stop going through Alaska. Had Sam, first year guide, and what a treat knowing this area was basically his backyard growing up. He brought us to the best fishing spots where I immediately caught myself a nice 32" lingcod, and my boyfriend a nice sized yellow fin. The rest of the trip was bringing in more but the pressure was off in catching our part of the meal coming up so we got to do a little bit of every thing. We booked this excursion directly with the company, bypassing the cruise which worked out perfect. It was just my boyfriend and I with the guide so really had a nice personable experience, for much cheaper!

  • Captain: Sam
  • |
  • California
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |