Baranof Fishing Reviews

What Guests are saying about us:

Surprise, all these reviews are positive! If you check TripAdvisor, you’ll see we have about 800 reviews with less than fifty 4-star or below; we didn’t include negatives here as we feel it’s an inaccurate depiction of our goals and commitment. Also, reviewing the specifics of what a group found to be an outstanding excursion serves to provide realistic expectations on what our prospective customers should demand of us. Five-star experiences are the minimum we hold ourselves to, and we ask that you don’t settle for less.

Amazing day of fishing Review Date: 2018-07-11

We had a great day catching halibut and cod and then a great meal of fresh fish at the wilderness camp. They made everything so easy. Thank you to Captain Trent and Kim. We even saw orcas and humpback whales on our way back. We highly recommend this trip.

  • Captain: Trent
  • |
  • Montana
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Alaska Fishing Review Date: 2018-07-17

While we didn't catch our target species, the fishing with AJ and then eating our catch at the Fish House was a 5 star day. AJ put us on the rockfish, and then joined us for a truly excellent meal at the Fish House afterwards. The fish were served 3 (or was it 4) ways, none of which were on the regular menu, showing off their excellent flavor and the chef's skill. I hope to return and do it again, this time nailing a King and a halibut, and enjoying them for lunch.

  • Captain: AJ
  • |
  • New York
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Hunting for Halibut Review Date: 2018-07-23

We had so much fun! Lukas was an excellent captain and guide. First he provided us with the rain/wet gear we needed to stay comfortable. The boat ride out to where the halibut were was a thrill and beautiful. He took us out right to the fish. He constantly adjusted where the boat was to be over where the fish were. We had so many bites and finally got the trick to hooking and landing. Lukas was on top of the situation but quite, calm, and confident. He's the perfect guide for the experienced fishermen on our boat and me a NOVICE. It was so obvious that he wanted all of us to be successful, and we were.

  • Captain: Lukas
  • |
  • Idaho
  • |
  • Excursion: Hunting for Halibut
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Highly recommend!!! Review Date: 2018-07-24

Came in on NCL Bliss and did Hunting for Hailibut. Met at the end of the docks by Captain Greg. Booked this excursion for my husband as he has always wanted to go halibut fishing but I think I had just as much fun as he did Captain Greg was terrific. He worked hard to find us great fishing spots. I actually caught the first halibut! Don’t hesitate to book if you want a great fishing experience!

  • Captain: Greg
  • |
  • North Dakota
  • |
  • Excursion: Hunting for Halibut
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Fun fishing! Review Date: 2018-07-25

We booked the fishing and wilderness dining through Baranof’s website and went fishing after getting off the cruise ship in Ketchikan. Everyone was super friendly, especially our captain (Jamie?). We were on one of the smaller boats and it was nice being in a smaller group. We got lucky that it didn’t rain. The lunch was delicious... one of my husband’s favorite on our whole trip (and we were cruising). We had a pair of eagles following us the whole time and they got lucky when one of the catches was a floater. I got great pictures of the eagles swooping down to get their prize. This excursion was one of the best things we did on our whole Alaskan vacation and would definitely book again!

  • Captain: Jamie
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Fishing excursion for Halibut Review Date: 2018-07-26

It was the most fun experience of my cruise at Alaska. The captain Tony Moucha was outstanding. It was a very successful fishing trip and he was always helpful and encouraging. He was the reason the trip was such a delight! Of course catching fish was exciting. Upon returning the fish that was caught was sent to Alaska Sport Fishing Expeditions where the fish were filleted, frozen in one pound packages and sent home frozen. The fish arrived home frozen and beautifully package. We followed the suggested recipes and enjoyed the most delicious fish ever. Highly recommend our captain Tony and this Baranof Excursion.

  • Captain: Baranof
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Amazing experience Review Date: 2018-07-27

We signed up for the Alaska Fishing and Wilderness Dining excursion. Communication and signup with Baranof was a breeze. We got off the ship a little early, but couldn't find our guide. We called butnoone answered the number. Luckily we found someone else from the company and they said they'd walk us to our location if our captain didn't arrive. We started walking and caught up with John (booking gave him the wrong ship name so he was waiting at the wrong location). We head to the dock, get geared up in boots and fishing gear, and hop on the boat. We went bottle fishing at 250 feet deep. Wow, what hard work. We caught 7 rockfish (but could only keep 4), 1 halibut, 2 sharks, and a ratfish. John was awesome and patient (I've fished often, but never this deep or for this kind of fish). When we were done, we headed to a beautiful camp where we sat around a fire drinking cocoa and coffee. John filleted the fish and the cook cooked an amazing dish with the rockfish, halibut, potatoes, and some sauce. The food and desert were amazing. After eating, we headed back but first John stopped where a pair of bald eagles live and threw out one of the fishwe weren't planning to keep. The eagle circled a few times and then done for the fish. I got amazing pictures and videos. This was a great experience and John was amazing.

  • Captain: John
  • |
  • Virginia
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Great private charter with Trent Review Date: 2018-07-31

After disembarking off cruise ship we were met by Tent at the gangway. A short walk to Baranof and we were in a 24ft aluminum boat speeding out to drop off crab pots. Baranof is great as they have a fleet of boats that share information to increase your chance of finding fish.

 After dropping crab pots we went out another 20 min where we proceeded to catch 5 halibut(1 to big to keep) a bunch of cod, and then circled back to find 3 Dungeness keepers. We got back in time for lunch prepared with some of our catch. The blackened cod was excellent. Trent was great as we had 3 adults and 3 young kids with limited fishing experience. He got us on the fish and got the fish in the boat all while providing the experience that we were all hoping for. I highly recommend Trent and look forward to fishing with him again in Alaska or Hawaii.

  • Captain: Trent
  • |
  • Massachussettes
  • |
  • Excursion: Private Charter
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |