Reviews by Excursion

Hunting for Halibut

Reviews For:

Halibut Fishing

  • nscooterjr
  • 2018-06-07
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Georgia

We booked a fishing excursion with Baranof Fishing Excursions in Ketchikan. We didn't have a lot of time because our cruise ship was only going to be in Ketchikan 5 hours but Captain Jim Maddocks made sure we had a very memorable trip. The ride out into the water was smoother then expected. We caught Halibut and other fish right away! It was a great experience and would recommend booking directly with them to save time and money. We just got back home on Tuesday and are looking forward to having our halibut for supper one night this weekend. Thank you so much Jim and Baranof Fishing for this awesome experience! Jo Anna Nease

Hell of day on the water with Lukas!

  • mo_mac0121
  • 2018-09-29
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • South Carolina

I’ve been to Ketchikan twice before, but nothing stood out like this trip! THIS IS A MUST!! This fishing trip is something we will never forget...especially for my mother-in-law, who had never been fishing before. We couldn’t of asked for a better Captain than Lukas, he definitely made the trip! He was very knowledgeable of the waterways and marine life. We saw bald eagles, sea lions, and a pod of whales blowing in the distance. Most importantly...Lukas put us on one good spot after another. We caught everything...yelloweye rockfish, china rockfish, yellowtail rockfish, halibut, ling cod, flounder, and blue ling cod When you have that good of a day on the water you aren’t even sore from reeling in 300+ foot of water. Lucas was also awesome and considerate in that when my mother-in-law started to get sea sick, he took us to calmer waters. Lucas went above and beyond, he deserve every bit of his tip!! We plan to come back next year and this will be on the top of the list!

Great Experience

  • John S
  • 2018-09-23
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Tennesse

My son, son-in-law, and I went Coho Salmon fishing with Lukas Brickweg on September 17, 2018. We had a great trip!! We caught 7 huge Coho's. Lukas took us out to the area where the commercial fisherman were and we had great success. In September the late Coho run is in full swing in the Ketchikan area. We had a great trip!! Lukas suggested salmon fishing that day over halibut fishing and it turned out that we had smooth seas and caught about 45 lbs. (dressed weight) of salmon and the folks that went halibut fishing that day came home empty-handed. Can't say enough about the experience!!

Great fishing trip!

  • Chris F
  • 2018-08-13
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • N/A

My son (15 yrs old) and I chartered a fishing trip through Baranof in July. From the captain meeting us right at our cruise ship, throughout the entire day fishing, he made it fun, informative and super easy - even for fairly novice fishermen like us. We caught lots rock fish, halibut, and had a great time all around. I highly recommend Baranof!

Aaron treated us right!

  • stbomb
  • 2018-08-04
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Washington DC

We chartered a Baranof boat, captained by Aaron, with 6 of us - my dad, my brothers, and my son and nephew. (FYI: We booked it weeks in advance which was a good idea) The weather was warm and sunny, which was great for being on the water but not ideal for the fishing. But, Aaron didn't let us go home empty-handed! He worked with us and other captains to find the right spots so we could catch some halibut, rockfish, and salmon. Aaron was friendly and personable and we were happy to add him to our family for the day. He also worked hard and without complaint to keep our lines baited, untangled and in the water. Perhaps the best part of the day was in the restaurant after. Since we had chartered the entire boat, they included the cleaning and preparing of the fish we caught in a private room of the Alaskan Fish House which is right on the dock. In addition to the catch, which they prepared multiple ways (ask for the beer-battered halibut!) they served fresh shrimp and delicious sides and included the first round of locally-crafted beer! If you can manage to charter an entire boat, do it. This perk makes it worthwhile! Thanks to Aaron and the entire Baranof crew that made our multi-generational fishing excursion successful and memorable!

Halibut heaven

  • Hertzler5014
  • 2018-09-27
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Pennsylvania

Chris was an amazing guide...we had a trip of a lifetime. We caught huge halibut and a nice variety of cod, rock fish and even a shark. Was so much fun!

Fantastic and memorable Halibut fishing with "Captain Jack"

  • pdygrl
  • 2018-10-27
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Hawaii

My husband and I booked our halibut fishing excursion through our Holland America cruise. I am an avid fisherwoman but this was my husbands first experience fishing let alone fishing for halibut. Captain Jack met us at the end of the pier (along with another couple ), and we quickly dressed in our boots, rubber gear and set out on the boat. Being September and toward the end of the halibut season my expectations were hopeful but this day was beyond my expectations. The captain and boat were excellent and the weather was beautiful warm and calm...we quickly got into some halibut and spiny rockfish. We even caught a large 43 inch halibut which we released. We saw a convocation of bald eagles, the most I have ever seen and porpoise. We opted to have our fish cleaned and sent home, they were delicious! This was the most fun and wonderful fishing experience I have ever had and my husband has stated he wants to go back on our own and do an extended fishing trip with Baranof and Captain Jack in the near future.

Halibut Charter-7/30/18

  • lifesav817
  • 2018-08-05
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Pennsylvania

I knew we had the right captain, Geoff Peck, when he said he wanted to catch fish more than we did. We had our limit of halibut in <1hr (all 5 passengers). We proceeded to fish for exotic fish. Everyone had their yearly limit of yellow-eyed rock fish (about 30 inches long) within 1-2hrs. Grace (Geoff's 12 y/o daughter) was the 1st mate. She is better than other 1st mates I've been with on other excursions and very polite. I would give Geoff a 10/star rating. What a pleasant and enjoyable day....HIGHLY RECOMMEND!