Reviews by captain

Geoff Peck

Reviews For:

An Amazing Day on the Amazing Grace!

  • Geoff Peck
  • 2018-08-09
  • Wilderness Camp
  • N/A

Before we even booked our Alaskan cruise, we knew we wanted to book a private fishing charter. After some research and talking with other friends who had gone on an Alaskan cruise, many people recommended Baranof to us. Boy, am I glad we booked this! This ended up being our most favorite excursion out of all the excursions we've taken over 5 cruises. Not only did we get super lucky weather-wise, but we were also paired up with the best guide duo (Geoff and Grace) on the newest and best boat (Amazing Grace) Baranof has to offer! Geoff and his 12-year-old daughter, Grace, were extremely knowledgeable, professional, and a ton of fun to spend the day with. We had our 12 year old son with us, too, so it was even more perfect that Grace was one of our guides. After hearing the different options we had to choose from, we chose to do the "Cook Your Catch", where we were taken to several different fishing spots to catch rockfish, salmon, and halibut, and then Geoff took us to the wilderness camp, where Geoff prepared our fish for the camp cook to cook up for us. During that time, Grace showed us around camp and the beach and took pictures for us. Lunch was amazing, there is no fresher way to eat fish than "water to table," and the dessert we were served was AMAZING! While the fish were not really biting the day we went due to a big storm that had come in the night before, we did catch five rockfish, and had an extremely enjoyable time on the water visiting with Geoff and Grace. We all agreed that we couldn't wait to come back to Ketchikan again and would definitely be booking another private charter with Baranof, especially if we can spend another wonderful afternoon with Geoff and Grace on the Amazing Grace. A++++

Halibut Charter-7/30/18

  • Geoff Peck
  • 2018-08-05
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Pennsylvania

I knew we had the right captain, Geoff Peck, when he said he wanted to catch fish more than we did. We had our limit of halibut in <1hr (all 5 passengers). We proceeded to fish for exotic fish. Everyone had their yearly limit of yellow-eyed rock fish (about 30 inches long) within 1-2hrs. Grace (Geoff's 12 y/o daughter) was the 1st mate. She is better than other 1st mates I've been with on other excursions and very polite. I would give Geoff a 10/star rating. What a pleasant and enjoyable day....HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

An Amazing Day on the Amazing Grace!

  • Geoff Peck
  • 2018-08-09
  • Private Charter
  • N/A

Before we even booked our Alaskan cruise, we knew we wanted to book a private fishing charter. After some research and talking with other friends who had gone on an Alaskan cruise, many people recommended Baranof to us. Boy, am I glad we booked this! This ended up being our most favorite excursion out of all the excursions we've taken over 5 cruises. Not only did we get super lucky weather-wise, but we were also paired up with the best guide duo (Geoff and Grace) on the newest and best boat (Amazing Grace) Baranof has to offer! Geoff and his 12-year-old daughter, Grace, were extremely knowledgeable, professional, and a ton of fun to spend the day with. We had our 12 year old son with us, too, so it was even more perfect that Grace was one of our guides. After hearing the different options we had to choose from, we chose to do the "Cook Your Catch", where we were taken to several different fishing spots to catch rockfish, salmon, and halibut, and then Geoff took us to the wilderness camp, where Geoff prepared our fish for the camp cook to cook up for us. During that time, Grace showed us around camp and the beach and took pictures for us. Lunch was amazing, there is no fresher way to eat fish than "water to table," and the dessert we were served was AMAZING! While the fish were not really biting the day we went due to a big storm that had come in the night before, we did catch five rockfish, and had an extremely enjoyable time on the water visiting with Geoff and Grace. We all agreed that we couldn't wait to come back to Ketchikan again and would definitely be booking another private charter with Baranof, especially if we can spend another wonderful afternoon with Geoff and Grace on the Amazing Grace. A++++

Amazing day with Geoff and Grace

  • Geoff Peck
  • 2018-08-18
  • Salmon Fishing
  • Ohio

We booked a 6 hour charter with Baranoff to include the “cook your catch” option at the campground. We had extremely high expectations and our father and daughter crew of Geoff and Grace delivered an above and beyond experience. The boat was brand new and was perfect for our family of six. Geoff is clearly the real deal of charter fishing captains - having professionally sport fished in Hawaii, Alaska and many other places around the world. He knew exactly where to take us and what sort of help was needed for us amateurs. We can’t imagine how there could be anyone better in the business. Having Grace on board as the first mate was awesome. She handled her role like a seasoned veteran at the ripe old age of 12. Her predictions on the crab pots were also right on - plenty of crab and even a few keepers that were delicious! Having our girls (9,7 and almost 5) get a chance to learn from her was an added and unexpected bonus. The skills and work ethic she’s learning will clearly take her far, wherever she wants to go in life. Within just a few minutes our whole group had brought great keepers on board, rockfish, silver salmon, yellow eye...and of course one monster ling cod that got away...which will be family legend for years to come. The team at camp who prepared the fish and crabs did an awesome job. The whole day was one of the top highlights to our 15 days in the Pacific Northwest. Thank you to Geoff and Grace!

Fantastic Time with Geoff and Grace!!!

  • Geoff Peck
  • 2018-08-15
  • Salmon Fishing
  • Colorado

Took a fishing trip with Baranof for while in Ketchikan for the day on a cruise. Had an amazing time with Geoff and Grace fishing on their 30' boat. It was extremely comfortable and easy to fish from. Salmon fishing had been slow so Geoff recommended fishing the bottom and we did great! An excellent day and a real pleasure to be with our guide and deck hand. Sure to do this again.

Extremely Professional And Personable Operation

  • Geoff Peck
  • 2018-09-04
  • Alaska Fishing
  • Louisiana

So glad we booked with Baranof and had Captain Geoff (and Steve too!) putting us on fish. We limited in Halibut, caught a few rockfish and cod to boot. The boat was an awesome, built for purpose vessel, and even in a 3’-4’ chop, was very comfortable. Safety and passenger comfort was important to Geoff, which meant a lot to us. Cap’t was also extremely personable, telling fun stories and always willing to answer our “dumb tourist” questions. In addition, we truly appreciated Geoff letting us handle the rods and do the reeling - in past experience this isn’t always allowed which makes the experience much less authentic. We had a great Alaskan fishing experience and highly recommend Baranof!

One Fish After Another

  • Geoff Peck
  • 2017-07-09
  • Hunting for Halibut
  • Pennsylvania

6 of us went out with captain Geoffrey,he told us right away the salmon would be tough to find .but had a good spot for halibut,so we took a run,so soon as we got to the spot we dropped down.and right away my wife had one on, then from there on it was one fish after another,