Baranof Fishing Reviews

What Guests are saying about us:

Surprise, all these reviews are positive! If you check TripAdvisor, you’ll see we have about 800 reviews with less than fifty 4-star or below; we didn’t include negatives here as we feel it’s an inaccurate depiction of our goals and commitment. Also, reviewing the specifics of what a group found to be an outstanding excursion serves to provide realistic expectations on what our prospective customers should demand of us. Five-star experiences are the minimum we hold ourselves to, and we ask that you don’t settle for less.

Great Salmon Fishing with Gary at Baranof Review Date: 2017-08-25

Great Salmon Fishing with Gary at Baranof

  • Captain: Gary
  • |
  • N/A
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Fishing with shore lunch Review Date: 2017-08-28

Booked a trip with Baranof through our cruise ship for a fishing trip with shore lunch. Baranof staff was friendly and helpful. They provided us with rain gear and rubber boots for our skiff fishing trip. We caught a 1/2 dozen or so rock fish, then trolled for pink salmon. No salmon caught. Fishing was a bit slow, but that is fishing, not catching. It was rainy and on the cool side (August in Alaska), fishing guide Mike worked hard to put us on fish, and was helpful all the way. We then headed to their private camp site for lunch, prepared with our freshly caught fish. Nice way to experience a bit of "wilderness" without really having to rough it. Lunch was delicious. ID is needed for fishing license. Not a restaurant, but lunch was cooked for us on site with drinks and plenty of hot coffee.

  • Captain: Mike
  • |
  • Texas
  • |
  • Excursion: Wilderness Camp
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best Experience Ever!!! Review Date: 2018-03-22

After saving up for a cruise of a life time- Disney Cruise to Alaska, I wanted to also include a life long dream of fishing Alaska. I booked an excursion to fish in Ketchikan at the Baranof Fishing Excursions. Hunting for Halibut! WOW! What a dream come true! Off the ship a quick meet and greet from my captain of my fishing boat and then off to be outfitted, boots bib, everything else needed. We went off to fish with all the gear needed supplied and gear in great shape! Fantastic scenery to fishing grounds and then GREAT Fishing! Upon return they packed and shipped my fish home for me and I started dreaming of coming again. I did, I went again to fish here a couple years later and it was Dream come true ...TWICE! I'm planning and saving up for another trip here!

  • Captain: Baranof
  • |
  • California
  • |
  • Excursion: Alaska Fishing
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Halibut fishing with Chris Baldwin. Review Date: 2018-05-07

I had a great trip with Chris on May 3rd 2018. I booked my trip through Princess Cruises. I only had a 3.5 hour trip. While I didn't catch a halibut this was due to the time of year and not Chris's skill. I did catch a nice Pacific cod. I will come back but I will come in July or August next time. It was just great getting out on the water in that awesome boat of yours Chris. Thanks again Chris to you and your crew at baranoff. Glenn Ritter Sebastian, Florida

  • Captain: Chris
  • |
  • Florida
  • |
  • Excursion: Hunting for Halibut
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best Private Charter in Ketchikan Review Date: 2018-05-31

Are you kidding me? I know you are fishing around (hahaha) for the best private charter in Ketchikan, or maybe searching for great excursions for your cruise ship....just book this place. Stop looking and bite the bullet, just book it. They are the same company that contract w/ the cruise line- don't hesitate. They are responsive and quick on questions, email or calls. Booked a private charter- they picked us up on at the cruise gangway for a 5 min. Drive to the dock- rainy day in Ketchikan (like 80%of the days here) - they equipped us with rain gear (not so lucky if you book with the cruise) - fishing licenses and we are off! Party of 5, 2 kids. Since it was a private charter, we could catch anything we wanted. So we set bait in crab box and sunk 3 in the water. Off we went to fish for rockfish or whatever bit, then off for a king salmon (which was the only salmon out end of May). Lucas, our captain, set up all the rods, made sure grandma was warm, made sure the kids were jigging pros and we dragged in 6 rockfish varieties plus a few lost :-( Just as Lucas dropped in the lines for the salmon trolling, hubs was asking 'how do you know if one bites' just like that Lucas said 'it looks like that!' And the catch was on! Moving fast little G (our 8yo) took the reel and began the fight. Daddy helping and -Lucas when needed moving fast. Everyone super excited! Apparently 2nd catch of the season! HUGE salmon. The crab boxes had a starfish....after a wonderfully successful day on the water, we headed to Alaska fish house (AFH) to have our catch cooked up for us. What an experience! Def. book this charter You WILL be happy Always remember- they can't guarantee a catch, don't knockoff stars if you don't catch anything- the fish don't care about your money. It's the experience and memories.see my AFH review for part 2 of the story

  • Captain: Lukas
  • |
  • Flordia
  • |
  • Excursion: Private Charter
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Sunshine or rain - best $ spent in Alaska Review Date: 2018-06-03

If you are fishing around (hahaha) for the best private charter in Ketchikan, or maybe searching for great excursions for your cruise ship....just book this place. They are the same company that contract w/ the cruise line- don't hesitate. They are responsive and quick on questions, email or calls. Booked a private charter- they picked us up on at the cruise gangway for a 5 min. Drive to the dock- rainy day in Ketchikan (like 80%of the days here) - they equipped us with rain gear, fishing licenses and we are off! Party of 5, 2 kids. Since it was a private charter, we could catch anything we wanted, do anything we wanted. We set off with Lukas, our Captain. Our youngest wanted crab, Grandmom salmon, I wanted halibut (not good halibut fishing this day was the word on the radio from the other fisherman, seas rough and tough to go out to get the halibut). So we set bait in crab box and sunk 3 in the water. Off we went to fish for rockfish or whatever hit our lines; then off for a king salmon (which was the only salmon out end of May). Capt. Lukas, set up all the rods, made sure grandma was warm, made sure the kids were jigging pros and we dragged in 6 rockfish varieties plus a few lost :-( I did not get my halibut or even get to reel one in, but who cares? I was on the water in Alaska with my family, creating memories. Just as we dropped in the lines for the salmon trolling, hubs was asking 'how do you know if one bites' just like that Lukas said 'it looks like that!' And the catch was on! Moving fast little G (our 8yo) took the reel and began the fight. Daddy helping. The excitement in the boat was contagious! Everyone super excited! Apparently 2nd catch of the season! HUGE salmon. After the salmon excitement, we trolled around for a bit (or bite) and nada. The crab boxes had a starfish... Sadly our 6 hours went so fast, we were off the boat and off to their sister restaurant where Chef Tyler cooked up our fish after filet and cleaning done by Lukas. . . What an experience! Def. book this charter You WILL be happy Always remember- they can't guarantee a catch, don't knockoff stars if you don't catch anything- the fish don't care about your money. It's the experience and memories.

  • Captain: Lukas
  • |
  • Florida
  • |
  • Excursion: Private Charter
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Halibut Fishing Review Date: 2018-06-07

We booked a fishing excursion with Baranof Fishing Excursions in Ketchikan. We didn't have a lot of time because our cruise ship was only going to be in Ketchikan 5 hours but Captain Jim Maddocks made sure we had a very memorable trip. The ride out into the water was smoother then expected. We caught Halibut and other fish right away! It was a great experience and would recommend booking directly with them to save time and money. We just got back home on Tuesday and are looking forward to having our halibut for supper one night this weekend. Thank you so much Jim and Baranof Fishing for this awesome experience! Jo Anna Nease

  • Captain: Jim
  • |
  • Georgia
  • |
  • Excursion: Hunting for Halibut
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |

Best Charter in Ketchikan Review Date: 2018-06-15

I booked the private charter through Baranof with 5 of my family members. Our Guide Lukas was great. Professional, knowledgeable and experienced. We wanted to catch Halibut and he knew where to take us. We had two in the boat before we knew it. The fishing slowed down so he asked if we wanted to change gears and go after Lingcod and Rockfish. None of us had ever tried that so we went for it. Lukas took us right to the fish, and we made him work when we had 3 or 4 fish on at a time. Within minutes we had a boat load of fish. It was a great time had by all and a very memorable trip. I would definitely come back again and recommend to others.

  • Captain: Lukas
  • |
  • Washington
  • |
  • Excursion: Private Charter
  • |
  • Rating: Excellent
  • |